Return to Gallifrey, Chapter 10

“You’re right,” Aloysius said with an indifferent sigh, “I wouldn’t. Because, as I believe I stated previously, I’ve no desire to harm you, not anymore. What’s done is done. And, I suppose…” he grimaced, “I’ve committed my fair share of…atrocities, as well.”

The Doctor glared. “You certainly did,” he growled, “How did you get here, anyway? And why should I believe that you won’t be committing anymore?”

“Stolen technology,” said Aloysius airily, “I stole it from the Time Lords on my way out. One of those atrocities you mentioned. But I’ve been reformed. I wish to return this to the Citadel–” he indicated a near-microscopic button on his cuff link, which the Doctor recognized as an inferior method of Time Travel–even more risky than his faulty Type 40 TARDIS, “–and pay my dues, riding out the war like a man. And my survival will be based on honor, and…” he glared at the Doctor pointedly, “not how quickly I could escape.”

A flash of anger came over the Doctor and he was all set to lunge at his enemy, but he managed to restrain himself and listen to the rest of the Decori’s speech.

“I know where you’re going,” he said in a barely audible whisper, “to fix your beloved TARDIS. But…” he gazed directly into the Doctor’s eyes. The Doctor was suddenly paralyzed, unable to break Aloyisius’ stare. Fight, he thought, break his gaze. Don’t let him overpower you…resist…fight…

“I want to go with you,” said Aloysius, still fixated upon him, “and I’m afraid I’ll be unable to release you unless you agree. I can be of great assistance to you and your friend, for I know every twist and turn of this planet. Now, Doctor, what say you?”

The Doctor finally realized he was powerless. “I agree,” he whispered, defeated. Aloysius broke his gaze, and the Doctor was thrown back with great force, landing several feet away. “But,” he said more strongly, getting to his feet and crossing over to where the Decori stood, “if there is any funny business…if you lay a finger on so much as a hair on her head…”

“I have seen your wrath, Doctor,” replied Aloysius sagely, “and I wish not to incur it once more.”

He extended his hand. The Doctor paused. An aching silence filled the air as he tried to figure some way out of this. Coming up empty, he shook it.

“Now then!” he said, falsely cheerful, “Let’s find Martha, shall we?”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

