Return to Gallifrey, Chapter 5

Martha sat up groggily. “Whazgoinon?” she slurred. The Doctor pulled her up forcefully and ran, dragging her along with him, his hearts racing.

“No time to explain,” he yelled over his shoulder, “You’re just going to have to trust me when I say that we have to get out of here as fast as possible!”

Martha thought she saw something flash out of the corner of her eye, but she had no time to look back. The sadness she had seen before in the Doctor’s eyes had been replaced by an unmistakable, haunted terror, like that of a man who has just come home from war.

They continued to run through the pitch-black desert for a half-hour that seemed like eternity, dodging zooming flashes overhead. When they were far enough away, they wearily once again found a place to camp. Martha was too worried to rest her head, however.

The Doctor frowned at her. “You really should sleep, Martha,” he said, “or you’ll be worse for tomorrow’s leg of the trip.”

Martha ignored him. “Why were we running, Doctor?” she asked, “I demand you tell me. This instant!” She was more afraid than angry, but she still did her best to sound firm.

The Doctor stretched out on the ground and sighed. “Just look at those stars…”

Doctor,” Martha pressed.

The worry returned to the Doctor’s eyes. He was silent for a long time before he finally spoke.

“They’re looking for me,” he said in a low whisper.

“Who?” choked Martha, “Who’s looking for you?”

The Doctor looked away.

“Doctor, tell me.

He looked around nervously, as though he felt he was being watched. Then, slowly, he faced her.

“It was a bad idea to land on Gallifrey,” he whispered, “because now I’m here, they won’t rest until they’ve found me and taken me down. What’s after me, Martha–”he hesitated, and his voice became barely audible. “What’s after me are the ghosts of a thousand Time Lords.”

3 Responses

  1. Ah. I cant wait for the next chapter!
    I think I’m hooked:)
    These rule.

  2. I can’t wait to see what happens!!!!

  3. This blog rocks, and if I’m not mistaken you are a really rreally really good writer. Better than that, but I don’t have the time to explain how BRILLIANT you are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

